2021 Call for Three Faculty of Science Research Chairs

The Faculty of Science is seeking its next group of Science Research Chairs. In 2018, the Faculty created the Faculty of Science Research Chairs program to honour faculty members deserving of public recognition. In early 2019, we announced our first three chairs: Kari Dalnoki-Veress, Physics & Astronomy; Allison Williams, Earth, Environment & Society; and Michael Brook, Chemistry & Chemical Biology. In 2020, Martin Gibala, Kinesiology; Gillian Goward, Chemistry & Chemical Biology; and Louis Schmidt, Psychology, Neuoscience & Behaviour became our next group of chairs.

We will award our third group of three Chairs in March of 2021. A Faculty of Science Research Chair may hold a Chair for an initial term of 3 years. In addition to holding the title as Science Research Chair, each Chair receives $15,000 each year for 3 years in the form of a research stipend. A Science Research Chair is also eligible for one, 3-unit teaching release in their first term. A Research Chair can be renewed for an additional 3-year term, but no research stipend or teaching release will be provided in the second term. Please note people who hold CRCs or endowed chairs are not eligible to hold a Science Research Chair.

Full details on the program are available in the Call for Nominations document. Nomination forms can be downloaded here.

Nomination packages are due on February 23 by 4 pm (electronic copies of the application package, pdf preferred), and should be sent to Katelyn McKay. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to Juliet Daniel, Acting Associate Dean, Research & External Relationsuliet Daniel, Acting Associate Dean, Research & External Relations or Seanna-Lin Brodie-Keys, Director, Research & Planning.
Go Back
McMaster University | Faculty of Science