• All your Science News in one place

    All your Science News in one place

Exploring thin films, surfaces and interfaces nets Brockhouse medal

Kari Dalnoki-Veress, Physics & Astronomy, will share the Brockhouse Medal for his contributions to physics in Canada, an honour he shares with his frequent collaborator, James Forrest, University of Waterloo. Recognizing their contributions to the understanding of physics of macromolecules in thin films, and soft matter physics, they will receive the Brockhouse Medal on May 30 at the Canadian Association of Physicists Congress.



New Dean of the Faculty of Science appointed

The Senate and Board of Governors of the University have approved the appointment of Robert Baker as the new dean of science. A noted researcher, educator and administrative leader, Dr. Baker joins McMaster from the University of Toronto. His five-year appointment begins July 1.


Biointerfaces Institute opens

McMaster’s Biointerfaces Institute is officially open for research and discovery. The 10,000 square foot facility will see researchers and industry partners exploring surfaces to create the next generation of medical devices and diagnostic kits, maybe even hospital doorknobs that can repel bacteria. The $22-million project was funded by the Canada Foundation for Innovation and Ontario’s Ministry of Research and Innovation, with support from industry partners and McMaster University.


Paul Ayers, Chemistry & Chemical Biology, wins an NSERC E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

The Faculty of Science congratulates Paul Ayers, Chemistry & Chemical Biology, on winning an NSERC E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship. These Fellowships are awarded to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising university faculty who are earning a strong international reputation for original research. Paul received his award from the Governor-General at a ceremony in Ottawa.



Go Back
McMaster University | Faculty of Science